Moroccan Delights Part 1

I just came back recently from a trip to Marrakech!  And wow, was I blown away!  Not only was it nice to have some sunshine and warmth for a change (ok, REALLY nice!)…..coming from London and all.  (Come on, you know how it is Londoners!) But the whole sensory experience was amazing!  From the music and buzz of Jemaa El Fna Square to the covered alleyways of the endless souks with their piles of colourful spices, to the delicious tagines, and of course to the colourful and detailed decor and architecture.

As you can see, I called this post “Moroccan Delights PART 1” as there were so many things that caught my eye.  But one of the things that continuously drew my attention were the hanging lamps that were beautiful unlit but even more beautiful lit up!  This surprised me, being a linear, clean lines, minimalist type of girl and all, but I grew to love these Moroccan lamps more and more with every one I saw!  Unfortunately for me my house is probably not the best fit for them!

IMG_2925
This one really had me mesmerised during dinner….at the gorgeous riad La Maison Arabe (www.lamaisonarabe.com)

My amateur photography does the lamp no favours by the way.

One place where I think I could incorporate Moroccan lamps in my own home though is outside.  What better way to add a touch of the exotic to an otherwise very contemporary house?  The way their colourful stained glass and intricate details cast light around an area is really something to behold and adds instant ATMOSPHERE!

Moroccan lights 2
I love these hanging lanterns!  The detailed patterns and shapes will give off a fantastic light “show” when the hallway is darker! Exotic but still contemporary enough for my tastes.

Here are some little ways to incorporate a touch of Moroccan lighting to your patio or garden:

Moroccan lamps
These are a super cute way to light up an outdoor area…Moroccan inspired RECYCLED lamps! (original source http://www.kaboodle.com)  Not the most authentic I know, but I do love them!

Morrocan fairy lights
Moroccan fairy lights!  An easy and economical way to give your outdoor area a lovely and mesmerising atmosphere. (original source http://www.notonthehighstreet.com)

Moroccan lamps 3
Imagine sitting outside on a warm summer’s night, having a drink and watching the patterns dance on the walls.  Talk about creating mood and atmosphere!

Morocco has a rich and diverse history and culture.  It’s designs inspire rich colours, intricate patterns, luxurious textures and detailed craftsmanship.  The Moroccan style really is beautiful and awe-inspiring.

4 thoughts on “Moroccan Delights Part 1

  1. Pingback: Morocco style | Andrea Loya

  2. Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!|

    • Thanks so much! Such a compliment! I’m on holiday at the moment so haven’t been blogging too much lately but hope to be writing much much more come September! Thanks for visiting and reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

