Mood Board Mondays

Every Monday morning I wake up and for some reason Bob Geldof‘s voice comes into my head singing “tell me why I don’t like Mondays, tell me why I don’t like Mondaaaays…..”! And although I don’t go into an office to work, Mondays can be a tough day to get through.  First there are the kids…..the same ones who wake up extra early on the weekends to play the Xbox now do not want to get out of bed…at all!!  It’s all rush, rush, rush and hurry, hurry hurry to get them out the door for school….with the younger one saying “I’m not going to school today!”  When I get back from the school run, the weight of my “to-do list” comes bearing down on me……..whereas on the weekend I can kind of ignore it a bit.  And really, it does’t help when it is so dreary out!

So, I thought perhaps what I can do to alleviate the “Monday blues” is to start Mood Board Mondays!  Yes, it might mean more work for me in the long run but I really do love to put together mood and concept boards so it’s something fun for me to do….as well as helps me to procrastinate on that ever growing “to-do list”!

This first Monday I thought I’d share 2 ideas that I did for a 11 year old boy’s bedroom.  One board is based on his love of rowing.  And the second board is a traditional British theme.  Both rooms are ideas that can grow with the child and stay with him until he’s older.  It’s important when designing a child’s room that it is not TOO theme-y as children’s tastes change and when they do, it means a “re-do” for you, and depending on what needs to be changed, it can be quite costly.

Funny enough, in the end the boy really wanted a safari theme….as they recently came back from South Africa.  I will withhold that mood board until I have finished the actual bedroom.  And although it’s not an idea I would have come up with originally (his mother didn’t give any clues as to him liking Safari‘s until afterwards) I think the room is going to look fab!

Image
A theme that has been done over and over but works well for a teenage boy.  I particularly love the idea of using a brick wall or street sign wall paper as a feature wall.  It gives the room a certain edge and coolness and makes it feel young.

Image
This room has a nautical feel to it, but without going “overboard” (excuse the pun!).  I love the idea of hanging the oars above the bed!  It’s a perfect feature for a child who loves the sport!

If you have a mood board you’d like to share, I’d love to see it!  As well, if you would like me to do a mood board up FOR you, please let me know!  I’d be happy to help!

Now…back to Monday……..

Image
Poor old, mis-understood Mondays!

Leave a Reply

