Pantone Colour of the Year

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you are all slowly getting back into your regular routines and starting your new years resolutions! For me, I still have the kids at home for a couple more days so I’m not quite there yet!  Anything to procrastinate eating healthy food and not drinking!  But I did not want to wait to share the Pantone Colour of the Year…which is…drum roll please………..Radiant Orchid.  To be honest, when I first looked at it I thought to myself “meh”.  I didn’t love it.  But as I began my search online for some examples my mind was changed!  Ok, so that makes me sound super fickle but the more I thought about it, the more I thought, “yes this colour could work!”  It is a perfect colour for spring especially.

There are a couple of ways you can use this colour in your home.  First, for the brave, you can paint your walls.  In my humble opinion, I think it would be lovely in small doses.  One wall perhaps to add a splash of colour?  Otherwise, I think too much of Radiant Orchid on the walls could result in a bit of a sickly look and one you may tire of quickly?  But that’s the beauty of paint colour….it can be changed!  The next way is to use it as an accessory and a way to add colour to an otherwise neutral room.  A lamp, a throw pillow, even an area rug….all would work well!  As well, certain pieces of furniture can be updated to stay on the colour trend.  Look at reupholstering a lounge chair or even adding, one of my favourites that I came across, purple Louis Ghost Chairs to your dining table!  See my mood board below.  They are so very cool and the purple makes them look modern and bang up to date!

Radiant Orchid I think, will do very well as an accent colour for your interior.  It works well with neutrals such as grey, taupe and beige but it also works GREAT with greens!  I love how it complements darker hunter greens or olive greens.

Image
See what I mean?

Ok, the kids film is now over and it’s back to mummy duties for me.  In the meantime, have a peek at Radiant Orchid:

Image
Tah dah!

Leave a Reply

